GH, DOOL, and Y&R Receive Nominations For 2020 Writers Guild Awards

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Y&R Logo

The Writers Guild of America recently announced the nominees for the 72nd annual WGA Awards. There will be two separate ceremonies that will be held in New York and Los Angeles on Saturday, February 1. In the Daytime Drama category, the nominees are “General Hospital,” “Days of Our Lives,” and “The Young and the Restless.”

Last year, “General Hospital” won the WGA Awards and since then, the show has won eight times over the years. Meanwhile, “Days of Our Lives” won twice and the last one was back in 2014. Lastly, “The Young and the Restless” have a total of five WGA trophies and the sudser last won in 2013.

WGA also announced the nominees for outstanding writing achievement in film, news, radio, and promotional categories.

Representatives For GH, DOOL, and The Young and the Restless

For “General Hospital,” the representatives are head writers Shelly Altman and Christopher Van Etten, associate head writers Anna T. Cascio and Dan O’Connor, and writers Barbara Bloom, Suzanne Flynn, Charlotte Gibson, Lucky Gold, Kate Hall, Elizabeth Korte, Donny Sheldon, and Scott Sickles.

Amanda L. Beall, Jeff Beldner, Sara Bibel, Matt Clifford, Annie Compton, Christopher Dunn, Sara Endsley, Janice Ferri Esser, Melinda Hensley, Anne Schoettle, Natalie Minardi Slater, and Teresa Zimmerman will be representing “The Young and the Restless.”

For “Days of Our Lives,” Lorraine Broderick, Ron Carlivati, Joanna Cohen, Carolyn Culliton, Richard Culliton, Rick Draughon, Dave Kreizman, Rebecca McCarty, Ryan Quan, Dave Ryan, Betsy Snyder, and Katie Schock will represent the sudser.

Other WGA Awards Nominees

“The Simpsons” have three nominations in the animated category for three segments including, “Go Big or Go Homer,” “Livin’ La Pura Vida” and “Thanksgiving of Horror.”

followed by two each for “Bob’s Burgers,” “The Crown,” “Dead to Me,” “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Pen15,” “Russian Doll,” “Succession,” “Veep” and “Watchmen.”

The 72nd Annual Writers Guild Awards

The 72nd Annual Writers Guild Awards is based on voting by 15,000 WGA members. It will take place at Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles and at Edison Ballroom in New York. Meanwhile, the nominees for the film category will be announced on January 6, 2020.

Last year, the major winners for WGA Television trophies went to “The Americans,” as well as “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel,” “Homeland” and “Barry.”

As always, more detailed Spoilers and Breaking news will appear here on Hollywood Hiccups!

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.